ArcheAge beta musings Day 2

ArcheAge game screenshot

The ArcheAge beta rages on. I finally downloaded all 19 gigs of the game and logged on for the first time to try it out yesterday. I have to say that it was very cool to see so many gamers giving it a whirl and Trion has done a good job of putting together an expansive, engaging and immersive world in my opinion.

I decided to roll my Nuian on the Aranzeb East U.S. server. It really does not matter what race, class, faction or even server you pick at this point in time because after the beta the servers will be wiped for the headstart on Sept. 12 so I decided to just have fun, explore and try out various classes.

After only a few hours of game play I had already leveled up to General rank (level 6 or thereabouts) and had found myself a nice mount. I think the devs have done a superb job of making a sandbox game, although there are still the familiar elements of the traditional themebox mmorpg. Questing still follows the conventions of yellow question mark NPCS and there is a linear progression through the newbie zones and beyond.

I managed to rack up close to 300 labor points, then I left for work. After I got back, I was less enthusiastic about being in the game because the population had dwindled quite a bit (natural considering it was later in the day) but I find that unless I am in a group, my interest in this game, as pretty as it looks, just isn’t 100 percent there.

I know there is still a lot to do and explore however, so I won’t pass final judgement or even make a final decision about buying into the head start, until I join a guild or try out crafting and some of the other features offered in the game.

Xannziee from 7 Days a week reports similar findings of exploration.

Other gamers and bloggers seem to be split between this game, Wildstar and ESO and other games.

Those interested in joining a guild should check out our companion blog where I am detailing the various guilds currently recruiting in all the game’s server before launch. Also, Etaew who does such a fantastic job of updating on DAoC has a great development tracker on the site. Then there is this from Junkies Nation.

I have also been playing DDO, wow, Age of Conan and Neverwinter, though the last one less and less because I find myself bored when I can’t queue into pvp arenas, so it remains to be seen whether ArcheAge will trump them all. For now I am having fun testing things out in beta if you see me in game holler at your man (hordemaster!)

This entry was posted in ArcheAge, DDO, Neverwinter, world of warcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ArcheAge beta musings Day 2

  1. Xannziee says:

    More fun after lvl 10! U r still in tutorial 🙂 then lvl 30 starts the “real” game they say…
    But AA doesnt suit everyone. its kind of special as its a sandbox game. It will be exciting to follow tho:)

  2. Xannziee says:

    And u need to get a glider and try sailing before u give up. I could stay just for the glider i think ^^ (free start glider from quest but iv already upgraded mine) 😀

Leave a Reply

