I’ve Got ArcheAge Envy

archeage mmorpg character designs

I have come to the realization that I need a new mmorpg to play. While I have been dabbling with both Neverwinter and DDO concurrently since the summer started, and since the new D&D 5th edition RPG was rolled out from Wizards of the Coast this summer, something feels off and I haven’t been able to put my finger on it until now: I need that feeling that comes with the fun and excitement of playing a new game.

Yet, I have been both wishy washy about which current mmorpg I should settle in as my third option besides my D&D mmos and more and more I have been wanting to play Trion’s ArcheAge, a desire reinforced by some friends that are regularly playing and blogging about it.

The blogosphere has been relentless covering ArcheAge since beta events first rolled out and I even got a free key for last weekend’s 5th event, but it was too late to participate.

Mike from Casual Aggro opined that the game doesn’t actually need testing since it’s already been released in Japan for the past year, and Korea for the past year and a half, but rather than concur, I realized this is the way mmorpg development and marketing is rolled out nowadays: build word of mouth for a game, then release it on a closed “beta” and let people slowly try it before rolling it out en masse. Sony is doing the same for EQNext with Landmark.

The Healing the Masses blog had an interesting perspective on ArcheAge, advocating trying out new elements in gaming vs. the tried and true and the status quo. “Maybe you’ll like it, maybe you want but at least it will be a new experience and something more than the repetition of the familiar and predictable.” said the author of this post. 

I am inclined to agree, even though we all find different elements of gaming to enjoy in the various fantasy milieus we inhabit, if we get stuck in a rut, it can be hard to try out new elements or to think that something different may be for us.

Inventory full was not impressed with early forays into the game saying  “It’s definitely not any kind of sandbox, the questing is meh and I don’t think I’ll be staying there long.” It remains to be seen whether I share in the evaluation of this hyped sandbox game.

This entry was posted in ArcheAge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve Got ArcheAge Envy

  1. Xannziee says:

    Oh would be fun if you joined! They are going to announce something on friday:http://www.archeagegame.com/en/news/2014/08/party-with-trion-at-pax/

    :*)

Leave a Reply

